Fencing in Fantasy

Photo by Carlene SalazarTomorrow night is my very first electric fencing tournament. I’ve been fencing over a year with Tom Martin as my coach from Kitsap Fencing Center.
Believe it or not, my fencing experience has very much to do with a fantasy story. I was in the midst of writing a duel in Cassandra’s Castle when I learned there was a fencing center in our town. I come from a fairly small city, so it would seem I’d have known about a fencing center since I’ve been wanting to learn the sport for a very long time. But, I didn’t so timing was perfect. I called, went to class and mentioned my story. Tom was thrilled to help me since he is an experienced stage-fighting choreographer. We made an appointment to meet and discuss the duel that is in the novel. What an exciting day. I don’t think I’ll ever forget it, really. We talked about the two characters who would be facing one another.

Image

We discussed the weapons they would use – Martim, a rapier and Valerio a saber. We discussed their personalities, their back stories, their ambitions, their integrity and temperament and their motives. We talked about the final outcome and then we choreographed the duel.

How exciting it was to have these two characters come to life in the eyes of someone else! And through this process I also learned more about the art of fencing, and have absolutely fallen in love with the sport!

So tomorrow when I go to my first tournament, it’s going to be a bit of a duel for me. And regardless of how many points I score, or don’t score, I’ll remember my coach’s advice!

Attack is good. Parry-reposte is better! Don’t get hit!

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fencing in Fantasy

Leave a Reply

