Do you Dance?

 IMG_9702

 

I dance with myself in the mirrors of my sanity.

My twirling, leaping reflection flows in sync

with my playful moves.
She bends ever so gracefully touching
fingers to toe then knee to nose.

Gliding through the empty space, we dance.

Moving to the time of our breath,

keeping the rhythm of our heart.

-Ruth

 costumesgrandk_024b

Do you dance? 

  Did you ever dance?

I remember anxiously waiting until everyone left the house. I would close the curtains, turn the music up as loud as I could, and dance. It was heaven. I wasn’t in the living room any longer. I flew on the clouds with the angels. I leapt through space across the stage performing for a crowd of  people. I spun on my toes, my dress would parachute around me, making my landing safe. I could dance on point like no other ballerina.

The music would take me places no man or woman ever went.

My body may refuse to dance someday, I don’t know. But if it does, I will encourage my grandchildren to dance!

 

 

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
Aside | This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do you Dance?

  1. Hey! I love your blog! you might love my most recent post! you should check it out!

  2. Skating. Ice skating always took me to that special place where fairies live.

  3. CKoepp says:

    Dance? Not much. Sing, yes. That I do. 🙂

  4. Tamy Burns says:

    I Danced Too! Beautiful. Thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

