A to Z Z is for Zorya Verchernaya

Our final day of the A to Z challenge, I’m stepping out with the goddess of dusk. I thought it rather symbolic!

Zorya Verchernaya

Image

Poussin Creative Commons

Zorya is the goddess of dusk in Slavic mythology. There are so many similarities between this legend, and Greek mythology that I found it difficult to find any artwork that wasn’t of Greek origin. Every ancient country seems to have a story about the golden chariot racing across the sky, and a woman holding the gate for him in the east, and another closing the gate behind him in the west.

The story is that the two women are sisters. Zorya Utrennyaya opens the gate each morning for Dažbog, who takes his flaming chariot across the sky. Her sister, the moon goddess Zorya Verchernaya closes the gate that evening as he leaves.

I find the imagery of a flaming chariot flying through the heavens, powered by proud and beautiful white horses, both symbolic and awe inspiring. I’m compelled to paint this myself whenever I have a bit of free time.

And this concludes the daily A to Z, creatures of fantasy challenge. I have enjoyed this project immensely and I hope all the other A to Z participants have also. Honestly this was educational for me. I didn’t know half of these creatures and their origins before I started. Everyone of them inspires some sort of tale I hope to tell. If not, maybe you will.

Thank you for following my blog this month. I’ll see if I can come up with something equally as exciting for May.

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in A to Z and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A to Z Z is for Zorya Verchernaya

  1. Thanks for sharing your insights over the last month – it has been really interesting learning about the creatures and gods and goddesses I hadn’t heard of and expanding my knowledge on the ones I did know 🙂 I look forward to reading your blog in the future and if you ever fancy doing a guest post on another blog, I’d be happy to host you 🙂
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles – A to Z Ghosts
    Fantasy Boys XXX – A to Z Drabblerotic

Leave a Reply

