Come along with me!

I have a deep respect for young people and a passion to encourage them in any way I can.

Having watched my grandsons in their struggles, several without fathers in the home to guide them, I feel a need to reach out to them. Of course a hug, a smile and loving concern is the best way, but I also wanted to give them a connection to what helped me as a child their age. A story.Image

The transition from youthful innocence into adulthood can be rocky- that turbulent stage of life when their questions are almost too disturbing to answer.

When I was 13 I read far beyond my years. Shakespeare’s dark and alluring prose intrigued me. I could relate to the deep inner struggles of a suffering Hamlet. The tragedy of Romeo and Juliet pulled my heartstrings, and Macbeth terrified me, beckoning me to question my own existence. I read dark and stormy stories like The Last of the Mohicans, The Scarlet Letter,The Count of Monte Cristo, Don Juan, and poetry by Edgar Allen Poe. Why?

That same question is asked by many parents when they contemplate their own children reading series like The Hunger Games and Zombie invasions.

Why are dark disturbing stories attracting youngsters?

My only response is that our young people are looking for answers to the human condition.

ImageYoung teenagers are stepping into a world that for them is no longer a My Favorite Pony and Princess Bride bubble. They sense a dark side to existence. A side they see their parents struggle in. Adolescents are aware that they’ve been alienated from the darker side of truth in their childhood. They not only want to know what life is about, they have an inner need to know what they will be tackling in the near future.

Our society would like our young people to think that getting a good education and a good job should be their only concern. Of course those initiatives are appropriate. Parents should encourage their children to pursue success.

But there’s more to life .

I remember arguing with my parents, insisting that I did not want to merely have a nice house, a job, watching TV and being ‘content’ with a shallow existence. I wanted more than that. I don’t think I am alone.There’s another appetite to feed.

At an early age, children question relationships with one another and with their parents. They contemplate world peace or why there are world wars, they struggle with love and hate, they decide their own morality or immorality, and most importantly they meditate on life and death.

My books are adventure fantasy-stories about make believe worlds. The characters are very human and face the same issues we do. Their struggles are believable. The most important aspect of these novels is that they offer hope because from what I’ve experienced, that’s what teenagers need the most.

ImageYoung people need to be assured that they will face darkness. Negative things will happen in their lives, if not already. We as adults shouldn’t try to shield them from that truth. Children can sense it. Young people will reject those lies and think less of you for telling them.

Teens know they face an unknown future. Alone. It isn’t news to them.

What I believe is important in writing for this age group is to encourage integrity, honor and courage so they have the tools they need to face the darkness life throws at them. And to give them hope. They need to know there’s a lantern burning, that there is light at the end of the tunnel. It’s that light that keeps us all moving forward.

The Ian’s Realm Saga

Image

As said by one reviewer
Dianne Gardner takes a simple premise – that of a young boy and his father whisked away into a magical land, and transforms it into something that is a true work of art. Young Ian and his dad discover that the computer program they had worked so hard to bring to life has begun to take on a life of its own.
While it is classified under Young Adult, this book transcends all such boundaries. Sure, the characters are highly relateable to teens and middle-grade readers, but the struggles of the characters, paired with her singularly masterful writing transport the young and old to an ancient land ruled by a vengeful draconic lord. I’m astounded at how the author uses her experiences to add a realism to the work which makes you believe that, lurking behind every screen, Ian’s Realm might just wait… living, and breathing under a dragon’s eye. With wonder and enchantment worthy of Narnia, this series will not disappoint. -A Blanton

 

Deception Peak Book I  and Dragon Shield Book II now available.

 

 

 

 

 

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Come along with me!

  1. That cover just glows – no matter where you stick it!

Leave a Reply

