Poetry contest…My poem and Lexa Rose

I only have one more poem entered in the contest. I’m going to wait a day or two before I post it because the poem was written by Ruth again. Instead, today I’m posting one of my poems from my novel Deception Peak. Well, actually it’s two poems from both Deception Peak and Dragon Shield. Lexa Rose and I put them together for the book trailer.

The Ballad of the Dragon Shield
Alas, sweet prince, our story’s long
For all the ages you’ve been gone
The dragon’s might has overcome
Our village lost to evil’s throne
Our people flee.
Our bodies bleed
Our forest cries,
Our soldiers die
Our hearts have ached our gladness yields
For thieves have seized our wondrous shield,
Thieves have seized our wondrous shield.

Deep in the cave the dragon’s lair
The portal’s bound the evil there
Until the prince makes good his word
None shall find our treasure.

O mourn for the loss of the child fair
Whose dreams float away on the midnight air
Our people flee.
Our bodies bleed
Our forest cries,
Our soldiers die
Our hearts have ached our gladness yields
For thieves have seized our wondrous shield,
Thieves have seized our wondrous shield.

He searched for his hope but his hope rides bare
On a horse that is stolen
On a sea that churns
Who once was beloved, bereaved of his own
Lament for the child so far from home.
Lament for the child so far from home.

ImageLexa is a remarkable young lady. When I talked to my friend and videographer Alex Chandler about doing a trailer for my book I asked him if he knew anyone who writes and sings music. He gave me Lexa’s name and we made contact. I gave her the poem one day. The next evening she gave me the music, melody and four part harmony all by herself. You’ll be listening to with a click of the button below.

Lexa and I made an album, her music my lyrics and this was the cover before we signed with PDMI Publishing LLC. If you happen to be one of the lucky ones that got that album with our little Kickstarter campaign, you have a one of a kind! I actually still have a few albums left.

Lexa’s music is featured on Deception Peak’s audio. You can hear a snippet of the audio with Matt Josdal on my website. Anyway…here is what she did with the poem that I wrote.

 

 

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

