To School Through the Fields

to schoolxI just finished a little book that I’ve been reading as a reference for Periwinkle. A sweet little memoir written by Alice Taylor about her childhood growing up in rural Ireland, County Cork to be exact. Such a simple account and yet I can see why it was Ireland’s #1 best seller.

I had always wished I grew up on a farm. Even when I was young I was almost angry at my parents for being city dwellers. Perhaps I knew then that I was missing something.

My parents tried to convince me I was wrong. That living on a farm would have been too much work for me. I thought they were wrong, and after reading this book I know they were. In fact, there’s a part of me that mourns for our society that does not have their feet buried in the fields, their hands to a plow, and their hearts in the country.

I missed learning how to do so very much.

Living on a farm was hard work, but it was the kind of work that brought people and families together. And as demonstrated in this memoir, it gave people a sense of well being. Taylor remembers grown men jumping over fences and dancing in the kitchen for no other reason than they are filled with joy. It makes me wonder if people can ever be that alive again, that happy?

If you want to take a step back in time, to a place where the fields are gold with grain, the cows roam the pastures, the rivers run free, then pick up this book, and the others like it from Alice Taylor!

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in authors, Books, Ebooks, folk story, Garden, grass, green, inspiration, life, Memoirs, musing, musings, nature, spring, Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To School Through the Fields

  1. Thanks for the comments, Gwynn. I should explain more.
    In Ireland where Alice Taylor lived in County Cork, there was one threshing machine, and so all the farms used it and because the fields were so vast and the work so labor some, all the farmers helped to harvest each others crops. When there was a slaughter, the neighbors helped each other butcher, and grind, case, and prepare the meats,and so each farm provided food for the neighborhood. So there was a communal style of harvesting which brought the men and their families together as they worked. Their faith also provided a means of gathering together as they did not have churches but mass was given in farm homes and the whole of the neighborhood came to the appointed house and each house took a turn to host the mass, and also fed a large breakfast to the neighbors. So the township or the parish was a family. they looked after each other. What one had in plenty was given to those in need. It was a beautiful existence.

  2. gwynnrogers says:

    Dianne I LOVED your thoughts in this post. I agree that I think more people should live on acreage as it IS a marvelous experience. However, it depends on the dynamics of the family as to whether growing up on a farm draws people together. I LOVED the freedom of the woods and our acreage. Plus, I LOVED the feeling of community. But dysfunction remains, as acreage/farming alone does not draw a family together… it is the mindset and the dynamics that pull people together.

Leave a Reply

