Making Sense

I’ve had people tell me they are amazed at how many things I do.

I have to tell you, there’s a reason for it. Not only do I love creating: painting, writing, dabbling in film, and whatever else I find myself getting involved in and yes, also even feeding the homeless, but there are rather selfish reasons, too.

Some authors, and artists claim that creative people are despondent if they don’t create. It’s very true. Creativity, as you all know, burns inside of us like a caged dragon bursting to be freed. I am right there in the trenches with all of you.

But I have a confession to make.

Deep inside there’s a very insecure person. I think it came from growing up in an environment  in which I never considered myself a part of. Middle class. My nylons always ran, my lipstick always smeared, and my hair would never hold a perm. I was bullied for being the second tallest in my school. I had an overachieving sister that got straight As and seemed to do no wrong, and of course being older than I, I would have the same teachers, and they expected me to live up to her reputation.

Ha! I was a C student because text books bored me to no end and I fell asleep while doing my homework. I didn’t listen very well in class, but I do remember looking out the windows while sitting at my desk, and daydreaming.

All these insecurities meant one thing. I don’t take rejection well. No, rather I take it personally.

cassiewaa

So what does this have to do with multi-tasking in the arts? A lot! I have burrowed for myself a series of cubbyholes where in I can leave one and crawl into another if that particular world stings.

No agent or sales or a negative review today? Of course I’ll try and fix what’s wrong, but at the same time I have my studio where I can hide away and paint. No acceptance in a gallery or show, then I play with screenwriting, or do some word art, or better yet, I go feed the homeless on Sunday…

Fortunately, the latter will never sting. In fact, that is the healer for all. Because in the end, service to our fellow human beings is the best any of us can do.

 

 

 

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in art, authors, bloggers, challenge, fantasy, filmmaking, fimmaking, inspiration, life, musing, musings, Stories, writers, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Sense

  1. J.R.Bee says:

    Big hugs, I can relate to wanting to leave the world into one you can control, the world can be a harsh place, for creative people especially/

    • I kind of like to think of it as expanding the real world rather than leaving it. I have a great life. Wonderful family and I cannot complain. The ‘harsh’ is not being accepted because my work does not compare. That’s what takes me into another realm of artistic endeavors. As far as the ‘real’ world, I relate very closely to what C.S. Lewis said about knowing that if we long for something other than what is offered us here, then we were most likely meant for another world.
      Our imaginations are like the 3D of the real world.

  2. Haha! I was 5.7 when I was nine. Stopped growing, and actually have shrunk an inch in the last few years. I appreciate you too, Gwynn!

  3. gwynnrogers says:

    I definitely CAN relate to your insecurities. Heck, I’m taller than you. You ARE an extremely talented lady. Appreciate YOU for who you are!

Leave a Reply

