Making Mends

As you might have seen from my little NaNoWriMo word count gadget, I successfully finished my first draft of Dylan, a contemporary magical realism novel. I’ve posted the blurb and my design for a cover earlier. Dylan is now in the hands of two very fine editors that work under the name of ManuFixed: Samantha Bohrman and Christina Pippa.

ManuFixed just finished some edits for Rising, which we are thinking of renaming Thread of a Spider. I am so grateful to have other eyes on my work especially for concept edits.If you have an opinion, let me know! Thread of a Spider begins the lyrics of Periwinkle, the fairy’s haunting song about a magical healing cloth which is made from spider’s silk.

Thread of the spider,
Weaving of ties,
Cloak for the piper,
A pickpocket’s lies.
It’s off with my head or drown in the well
Should I not find the cloak of periwinkle?

Sometimes we are so close to our stories that we don’t know what sort of questions will arise until a reader leaves a review, and by then it’s too late. I feel that concept edits or ‘seeing the big picture’ are more valuable to a novelist than any other form of editing. This is a professional third eye on our work! That’s why I’m thrilled to have Sam and Christina excited to read what I write and help me with that big picture.

Of course, because they will be the first eyes on Dylan I’m anxious to see what they say. Once that story is edited, it will also be queried. Wish me luck!

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in Ebooks, Rising, Stories, writers, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

