Making More Stories

They say (“they” being all the industry advisors) that the best way to sell books is to write more. I don’t know about that. I certainly don’t want to get too back logged. But I DO have a story in the works i.e. outlined and researched, and thought I might just give it a spin and start a chapter tonight.

I’m excited for this one. I know, I’m always saying that but I get excited to write, I guess  and that’s what drums up the inspiration, kind of like a war dance.

Believe it or not, this story is a special request. A WWII historical romance based on the actual letters and life of a nurse in England and a wounded infantryman she cares for.

EyewitnessWWII-01._V389839556_

My sister-in-law gave me the materials it will be based on. Her mother’s experiences while she was stationed in England, with a host of newspaper clippings and other resources from the era tucked neatly away in her mother’s scrapbooks. It took me quite a while to index all of the letters, and to get an outline together. I’m beginning to see some scenes and I think I’m ready to dive into this piece of fiction. A new genre for me!

I’ll try to share my progress with you as I go with perhaps an excerpt here or there or a piece of trivia I come across concerning their lives.

So as I tune up my other two manuscripts, and I know my last blog post indicated I was giving up querying but I’m not. Not yet. I think this last review enlightened me somewhat. I was querying genre agents and I believe I should be seeking representation from agents who take literary fiction. So…but I will paint the cover of Thread of a Spider, and I’ll be working on that this weekend. Hope I don’t sound like too much of a flake!

About Dianne Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, Dianne Lynn Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling author and an award winning illustrator who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA. Mother of seven and grandmother of 16, Dianne wants to make sure that books which ignite imaginations, strengthen friendships, spur courage and applaud honor are available to every reader in the world.
This entry was posted in authors, Books, inspiration, interviews, Memoirs, musing, musings, Romance, Stories, writers, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making More Stories

  1. I’ll give it my best! Thank you.

  2. Tena Carr says:

    Sounds like it will be a good story 🙂

Leave a Reply

