Video making

I started making videos long before I started doing Kickstarters. They are really quite fun. I used to have premier Pro but the software has huge files and if you aren’t set up for it, your computer will keep freezing on you. It’s like messing with sewing machine needles that keep breaking when you’re trying to make something. Better to get software that is simpler and that will let you do your job with fewer interruptions.

I use Moavai (the paid version). It lets you work with audio as well as video and has a lot of nice features so you can make a professional looking video without scratching your head trying to learn software. (I’m not saying it’s better than Premier Pro. You won’t want to do a feature film with it, but it works for book trailers.)

There are lots of places online you can get video clips for your campaign. Some of them are expensive and charge by the clip, some of them charge a monthly fee, and like Pixabay where I get my music, they have some free video clips to use. Lately I’ve just been using illustrations that I create with Midjourney because I’m a little hard up for cash right now with the swinging door policy we have with our family. But with the right transitions, illustrations work really nicely.

Of course I’m saying all this because I want to show you the video I created for Tales of Wonder last night. And I have a really fun one planned for the Sword of Cho Nisi Kickstarter I have coming up this spring.

About D.L. Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, D.L. Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling and an award winning author, illustrator, and screenwriter who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA.
This entry was posted in authors, Books, dragons, Ebooks, fantasy, folk story, KickStarter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.