How do you hide 3 dragons?

By Martha Carr

Here I am, starting over on my own. I’ve been co-writing with someone for over seven years
now, but it was time for me to step out front. This is my first trilogy in my backlist and Lasair is
book 2 from Queen of the Flightless Dragons that just went live on Kickstarter. So far so good. It
funded in under 30 minutes and has a Project We Love sticker.


I’ve been writing for over 30 years as a writer for The Washington Post, a national columnist and
somehow that added up to landing as an author who loves magic. Makes a kind of sense. I used
to be the magician at my little brother’s birthday parties when we were young.

Books are all about magic for me. They can tell me about things I didn’t even know existed a
little while ago, or take me on really creative, wild rides tills I forget where I’m sitting and all I
can see are the colorful images in my head weaving an adventure.


I love this story about a girl gamer in a taco truck who finds dragons in Austin, Texas because for
one, I’m a girl gamer and I never read stories with us front and center. She’s also a witch and
more, of course, but it’s her gaming skills that will also take her far. Of course, there’s a little
romance. I mean, come on, Harry the Borrower is there too.

Lately, I’ve also really become interested in the natural magic that’s all around us. Trees are
always sharing water and helping sicker trees for miles. Birds communicate about danger and
share supplies. The best kind of magic and I used all of that in both Eamon, book 1 and in Lasair.
Frankly, for me, Urban Fantasy is all about the idea that magic is everywhere, maybe we’re even
magical, and we just don’t know it yet. The discover of our true potential and our ability to come
together and create something bigger and better inspired this story.


Willow will discover the truth about her family lineage and her own abilities. It’s just in time, too
because she’s the last of her kind and the only one who can truly fight off what’s coming. The
enemy knows it too and will be looking for her. But can she do it alone? Just because we’re
special doesn’t mean we need to go it alone. A life lesson I’ve been learning. Everything is better
with friends along. Thanks for letting me share. Enjoy! More adventures to follow

The story continues about a girl gamer in a taco truck, dragons and interdimensional demons. Willow Jenkins has found her true magic but is it enough?How do you hide three large dragons in plain sight? Turns out chicken nuggets and a really large barn helps.

Willow thought her biggest problem was getting the taco truck in a good parking spot, not disappointing her mother again, and hiding her magic. But then lizards became dragons on a ranch in Austin, Texas, agents from another world started hunting her down, a gamer is dead, and a toaster can act as a portal. And there’s Harry the Borrower.

Her grandfather is missing, the agents have found her truck, a dragon is her familiar, and a motley crew of gamers are the heroes.

Do they stand a chance against the Regime? Save the alchemist, save the world. Want to know more? Get the box wine and Pepsi, and pour yourself another kalimotxo, but put it in a to-go cup. This time, Willow is taking the fight to them.

Check them out on Kickstarter!

About D.L. Gardner

With a passion for wholesome and entertaining stories, D.L. Gardner dives into fantasy novels both adult and young adult. She is both a best selling and an award winning author, illustrator, and screenwriter who lives in the Pacific Northwest, USA.
This entry was posted in authors, Books, dragons, fantasy, KickStarter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.